A reader’s Thanksgiving

A couple days ago, Writer’s Digest pointed out several writers who took to Twitter to to show their thanks for being writers. What a fantastic idea! Of course we’re thankful for our families, friends, pets, health, etc., but how often do we think to be thankful for the parts about ourselves that make us who we are? So in that spirit, here are a few reasons that I am thankful to be a reader.

  • In-house vacations. Reading Rainbow had it right. “I can go anywhere, just take a look, it’s in a book, it’s reading rainbow.” (Don’t pretend like you didn’t sing that instead of read it.) I know it’s cliche, but books really can take me anywhere–I’m able to completely zone out while reading to the point where everything around me seems to fall away and I am in the author’s world. Since I read a lot of fantasy, those worlds are usually pretty fantastical.
  • Inexpensive de-stressing. Bad day at work? My books take me somewhere so much better, and since I can’t focus on anything but reading the story, all those worries and stressors just melt away as the pages turn. You can keep your $100 spa treatments.
  • Increased vocabulary. Between my iPhone and Kindle, I have a dictionary on me at all times. It makes it so easy to look up words while I’m reading. I just finished reading The Handmaid’s Tale (review coming soon), and I probably had to look up 10 or so words. Now I’m that much better at Scrabble.

Mostly though, I’m thankful to be a reader because my life is so much better with characters like Harry Potter, Frodo Baggins, Peeta Mellark, Lyra Belacqua and Mr. Darcy in it. Reality is so much more enjoyable when I can escape to Hogwarts, Middle Earth or Jane Austen’s England on any given day. Not everyone likes words. For so many, reading is a chore. I’m thankful that for me, reading is an escape. I can’t imagine my life without it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading

Leave a Reply

